Sign In
Georgia's Virtual Library...bringing quality content to you!

University System of Georgia

« Back | Search now

  • Coverage Dates: Ongoing

The University System of Georgia's Board of Regents was created in 1931 as a part of a reorganization of Georgia's state government. With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority. The governor appoints members to the Board, who each serve seven years. Today the Board of Regents is composed of 18 members, five of whom are appointed from the state-at-large, and one from each of the 13 congressional districts. The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

The Board oversees 35 colleges and universities: four research universities, two regional universities, 13 state universities, eight state colleges, and eight two-year colleges. These institutions enroll more than 270,000 students and employ approximately 11,000 faculty and 28,600 staff to provide teaching and related services to students and the communities in which they are located.

Express Link (bookmark): GALILEO Express Link